Planning to buy a car or order a special design license plate? There are some new fee increases to be aware of.
The changes are directed by the Washington State Legislature to help fund Move Ahead Washington, the nearly $17 billion transportation package signed into law earlier this year.
Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5974 raises fees as follows:
STARTING JULY 1, 2022
License plate fee
Original plates are those issued upon initial registration in Washington. Fees are per plate.
- Original plate: Increases from $10 to $50
- Replacement plate: Increases from $10 to $30
- Original motorcycle plate: Increases from $4 to $20
- Replacement motorcycle plate: Increases from $4 to $12
Important! Applications received on or after July 1 must reflect the increase, even if mailed payment is postmarked earlier. To ensure the amount you pay is correct, consider doing your transaction online at dol.wa.gov or visit a vehicle licensing office in person.
Dealer temporary permit
These are provided by auto dealers to buyers for use until permanent plates are received.
- Increases from $15 to $40
Dealer documentation fee
This is an optional, negotiable fee charged by dealers for administrative costs. The amount below is the highest allowed.
- Increases from $150 to $200
Stolen vehicle check
Affects vehicles previously registered in another state and registering for the first time in Washington. The vehicle is checked against national and state databases for any titling or other issues.
- Increases from $15 to $50 (then to $75 starting July 1, 2026)
Important! Title applications received on or after July 1 must reflect the increase, even if mailed payment is postmarked earlier. To ensure the amount you pay is correct, consider doing your transaction in person at a vehicle licensing office.
STARTING JAN. 1, 2023
License service and plate technology fees
- Light, medium, and heavy duty trucks subject to $0.50 license service fee and $0.25 plate technology fee (already assessed on most passenger vehicles)