It’s time to renew: 2011 boat decals expire June 30


Everett Marina with Mt. BakerSummer boating is right around the corner, and so is the deadline for renewing boat and watercraft registration decals. In Washington state, all boat registrations expire on June 30.

Boat registrations can be renewed online and in person at a neighborhood vehicle licensing office. Those who choose to renew in an office should make sure to note the registration number on the bow of the boat or watercraft and take that information to the office.

Renewing online is fast, easy and secure. Boat owners who have not yet signed up to receive an email renewal notice for their boat can do that on the Department of Licensing website, too.

8 thoughts on “It’s time to renew: 2011 boat decals expire June 30

  1. I renewed online but somehow missed the part where I can print the receipt. Can someone e-mail me the receipt?

  2. I just tried to renew the tabs on my jetski trailer.
    The system will not allow me to renew since it says that your records show the vehicle has been sold.
    I have owned this trailer since 07/01/2010 and licensed it at that time. Please fix your system immediately.

  3. Your on-line reminder service sucks!! It is June 14, 2011 and I have yet to receive a reminder notice. We leave on vacation on June 30th, so i decided to initiate the renewal process on my own. No, I did not sign up this year….I did it in the summer of 2010.
    And NO, you are not identified as SPAM….nice try.

  4. I signed up for email renewal notice but never received it. Not a very helpful service.

    1. Hey there KW,
      If you just signed up recently, you may not have been in time to get one this year. If you signed up last year, have you checked the spam filter folder in your email program? Depending on your personal email settings, your notice might have been identified as spam. If it is in your spam filter, you can select the message and choose to make the Department of Licensing a “safe sender.”

  5. The registration website had trouble handling my two digit hull number again this year. My hull number cannot be changed, why not fix the website so that it can handle the various special situations?

    1. Hello F.E.James,
      We’re sorry you are having trouble using the online renewal process for your boat. It can be challenging for us to develop these types of services in ways that handle a wide variety of special circumstances and still maintain a high level of security for all users. We will pass your comments along to our developers to see if we can find a solution.

Comments are closed.